Standardized Tests - IELTS

  • Test Content and Structure


International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is an English Language Proficiency test that is required to be taken by non-native students for study in countries where the medium of instruction is English. IELTS is jointly owned by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations. Among the popular study destinations IELTS is accepted by universities in UK, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada. IELTS is one of the mandatory tests required to be taken for admission in Australian Universities (at any level). Earlier, TOEFL was also accepted. With effect from 1st March 2002, all the universities in Australia require only IELTS score in place of TOEFL. IELTS is also a must for obtaining the Australian visa.

This test is also an alternative test to TOEFL for admission into UK, Canadian and New Zealand universities. However most universities in USA do not accept IELTS, TOEFL is required instead as a proof of English proficiency to study there.

Types of tests

IELTS is offered as 2 types of tests


General test

Which is required to be taken by applicants who wish to seek permanent residence or employment in countries like australia.


Academic Test

Which is required to be taken by students who wish to Study Abroad.

All candidates have to take the same Listening and Speaking Modules. If you are planning to undertake academic study it is recommended that you sit for the Academic Reading and Writing Modules. If you are planning to undertake non-academic training or apply for immigration to Australia or New Zealand it is recommended that you sit for the General Training Reading and Writing.



The IELTS exams contain four sections

Section Duration Test Mode & Score
Listening 30 Minutes Paper based test with Nine (9) band score system. Will also be offered as a Computer Based Test in future.
Reading 60 Minutes
Writing (two essays) 60 Minutes
Speaking 15 Minutes